Identifying Your RT3 Unit

This is the RT3 unit and was made by Magneti Marelli
The RT3 was available in a few different hardware versions, the later ones supporting MP3 playback. These units had an optical connection to the Display Screen.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 18415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1742

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by GiveMeABreak » 14 Jun 2017, 23:22

Dave, you can actually change the voice from Female to Male if you have the system CD.

Regarding the announcing of the street names, I can't remember exactly where the setting is, but it can turned off. I believe it is in the navigation or route options menu somewhere... I'll try and find out for sure though.

dunlopdk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Dec 2019, 10:45

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by dunlopdk » 16 Dec 2019, 12:31

Could someone post the different modelnumbers for the RT3 unit?
I have a CAN bus version laying around, which I can not use as my car has the VAN bus. The junkyard could help, but they need the modelnumber.
Alternatively, is it possible to convert the CAN bus version to VAN bus?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 18415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1742

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by GiveMeABreak » 16 Dec 2019, 13:08

The version is dependent on the software on the system:

1) Switch the power on
2) Hold down the MENU button until you get the extended menu
3) Select DEVICE DESCRIPTION
4) The software version will then appear
If your software version exceeds 5.5 or 6.6 then your software has been upgraded

RT3 2001 VAN 5.50
RT3 2002 VAN 5.5D (color)
RT3 2003 CAN 6.60
RT3 2004 CAN 6.63 (color)

No, you cannot convert one to the other and if you attempt to upgrade with the wrong firmware it will brick it.

dunlopdk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Dec 2019, 10:45

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by dunlopdk » 16 Dec 2019, 14:16

let me rephrase it
I have two options
a) find a VAN version at a junk yard, but they need the exact make and modelnumber.
b) Somehow fit the CAN version I have, in my car using an adapter, different wiring or something similar.

Mind you, I do not have a radio in the car. Which is annoying driving for 3 hours, in total silence

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 18415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1742

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by GiveMeABreak » 16 Dec 2019, 15:28

Again, you CANNOT convert anything. The electronic architecture of the RT3 unit has to match the electronic architecture of the vehicle. CAN / VAN have different data networks, operate at different speeds and use different ECUs. They are not interchangeable.

The best thing you can do is post your VIN here and I will try and locate a manufacturer part for the one that came with your vehicle. This may help with your searching. They are made by Magneti Marelli

dunlopdk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Dec 2019, 10:45

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by dunlopdk » 16 Dec 2019, 15:41

Perfect

VIN: VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 18415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1742

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by GiveMeABreak » 16 Dec 2019, 16:08

Now you have really got me confused.

Your C5 was factory fitted with an RT2 unit according to your VIN...... - your build date was June 2002. My understanding is that they only fitted the early RT3 units to the end of the last production run of the C5 MK I (around 2003/2004).

My post here shows how to identify the CAN VAN models visually:

viewtopic.php?p=532390#p532390

So what are you trying to do retrofit an update to your RT2?

dunlopdk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Dec 2019, 10:45

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by dunlopdk » 16 Dec 2019, 22:25

I am merely trying to figure out, what unit was in the car originally, so I can fill the empty hole, get the navigation in the glove box working, the cd changer working, listen to those nice jbl speakers and actually see some info on the big screen. But I want the radio to be the same model, as the car came with.
If you have the part number, model number or similar, it is a huge help

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 18415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1742

Re: Identifying Your RT3 Unit

Post by GiveMeABreak » 16 Dec 2019, 23:32

Ok, so you have an RT2 system.

These are very hard to get hold of now,
96441981ZK or 96441981ZE
Citroen part numbers: 6560W0 or 6560EW or 6564PT or 6564PL

Some links for a visual:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_osac ... cat=174119

https://www.proxyparts.com/car-parts-st ... id/988499/