RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

goggi10
Posts: 36
Joined: 04 Feb 2017, 15:40

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by goggi10 »

Thanks but is it necessary to do BSI restart I was always afraid of that procedure.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Nothing to be afraid of - just follow guidance and don't skip any parts or timings or open doors / press buttons whilst doing the procedure. You only need to remove the battery negative terminal not the battery itself - but make sure the battery negative doesn't re-attach to the terminal after removing it until you are ready to attach it.

It is perfectly safe and helps to ensure the various ECUs are put to sleep and are woken up properly.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes that looks like the latest firmware for the RT6.

drumvlado
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2014, 16:15

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by drumvlado »

Hi there,
I am trying to predict any problems that I could face installing the RT6 to a C5 II (facelift). My car comes with the original "hi fi" option, which means that it has the analogue amplifier fitted and couple more speakers which is something I would like to keep. Looking and comparing the schematics in SEDRE it looks that the RT6 uses another kind of amplifier on the C5 X7 and the connections are completely different. They are the same for a non amplified car.
I see Marc is throwing some configuration tables for the RT6, but for the x7 only. Where can one check if there is the option for the analogue amplifier for another model that might have it? Where do you get this info, Citroen documentation backup?
Many thanks!
Vladimir

drumvlado
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2014, 16:15

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by drumvlado »

Hi Again.
On a Russian forum I did find that with Mirascripts for RT6 you get these options:

"Audio Mode":
0=Normal : internal amplifier ()
1=HiFi : external analog amplifier
2=HiFiCAN : external digital amplifier
3=Arkamys : internal amplifier with Arkamys audio DSP
4=Arkamys+Hifi : external analog amplifier with Arkamys audio DSP

So, I guess it will work with option 1.

Regards,
Vladimir

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The factory fitted Hi Fi option on the X7 is a CAN multiplexed Amplifier and was made by Philips, The one on the C5 MK II was a JBL system.

Post up your VIN of your C5 MK II if you want the wiring for the amp fitted to this car.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

drumvlado wrote:
06 Feb 2019, 17:06
"Audio Mode":
0=Normal : internal amplifier ()
1=HiFi : external analog amplifier
2=HiFiCAN : external digital amplifier
There are only the first 2 options configurable on the X7 for the amp using Diagbox, Vladimir. I can't comment on Mirascripts for the other options - but I do know people have bricked their units using them if the wrong options are selected.

drumvlado
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2014, 16:15

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by drumvlado »

That sounds bad. Although I am still not that concerned as on the aforementioned Russian forum people are switching between all the modes to see what will change with no apparent problems on RT6. Maybe the options you see with the lexia could be programed to be limited to the specific car.
Many thanks for the info!
Vladimir

AUSDS3
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Apr 2020, 22:45

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by AUSDS3 »

Morning

I have a Citroen DS3 with RT6 (with internal SD Card, not on the panel display) , that stop working, i got a second hand unit installed but scroll button on the interface of the unit is not working and i can't perform a set up.
Can you please help.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

When you installed the new SD card, did you also have your firmware files on a USB stick inserted when you reconnected and started the RT6? That should reinstall the system files. However if you are installing, have installed, or are going to use firmware 2.86 firmware to install the system files and partition the internal SD card, then be aware that this version will lock the ECU into secure mode, making changing some of the options impossible without a dealer PSA server-download of the ECU configuration files or again Mirascripts.

User avatar
Paul-R
donor 2020
Posts: 3903
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 373

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by Paul-R »

AUSDS3 didn't say that he had installed a new SD card Marc, unless you have some extra information?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so I misread that -

@AUSDS3: You'll need to connect Diagbox to the vehicle and configure the new Head Unit to match your vehicle options as the donor unit will be configured for options on the previous vehicle. You'll also need to Code your vehicle's VIN code into the donor Head Unit.

AUSDS3
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Apr 2020, 22:45

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by AUSDS3 »

Hi Gents & Happy Easter

Sorry I have just seen your reply.

I am from Australia so we do have a bit of a time difference.

I did take the unit to local Citroen Dealer and they have installed the unit's VIN number so its not beeping anymore.

But the scroll button on the head unit, OK function is not working so I can't set any stereo parameters.

I don't have Digi-box or lexia i had a look at ebay, do you recommend any model in particular.

Thanks, Miro

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19511
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1877

Re: RNEG/ENEG2 Swap Problem

Post by GiveMeABreak »

AUSDS3 wrote:
12 Apr 2020, 13:47
Sorry I have just seen your reply.

I am from Australia so we do have a bit of a time difference.
I appreciate you are in Australia, but I don't think anywhere in the world has a time difference of 10 days! :-D

Lexia / Diagbox is the software, but the clones are usually marketed as a Lexia 3 'kit'. Make sure it is a Full Chip revision 'C' unit with all the hardware. If the unit is too cheap it will likely be missing a lot of the components on the circuit boards required for later vehicles.